Opening Night

Opening night for the 2020 Huon Art Awards was on Friday 6th March at the Cygnet Town Hall.


The exhibition was to be opened by Bec Enders, Mayor of Huon Valley Council but at the last minute Bec could not join us – so Rosalie Woodruff MHA was press-ganged into the position and performed very well under pressure!

As usual it was a packed hall for the opening, with lots of great artwork a a few good laughs during the night.


Unfortunately our major new Platinum Sponsors – Port Cygnet Cannery – were unable to attend due to illness, but their presence was felt with many awards sponsored by their generosity and community spirit.


Thanks again to our sponsors – there would be no Huon Art Awards without them.

Previous slide
Next slide

Opening Hours

Exhibition Opening Hours
Sat. March 7th to Sun. March 22nd
10 am – 4 pm Daily


And the winners for the 2020 Huon Art Awards are...

Port Cygnet Cannery 2020 Huon Art Award

Joanna Lawton: Singing an Easterly
Huon Valley Council

Huon Valley Council Acquisitive Award

Lucas van Rijswijk: Innocence

Homelands Acquisitive Award

Anne LeFevre: Last Light Eggs and Bacon Bay

Bacon Family

Richard Bacon Watercolour Award

Lynne Jenner: 40 Spotted Pardelote

Bacon Family

Richard Bacon Watercolour Highly Commended Award

Polly Whittington: Simon's Song

Bacon Family

Richard Bacon Watercolour Student Award

Amelie Moschberger: Oceanic Bond

Huon Valley Community Bank Branches Mixed Medium/Any Other Award

Sue Miller: Gretel II Cygnet Regatta 2019

Cygnet Association, Robert Armstrong MLC, David O’Byrne MLA: Mixed Medium/any other Highly Commended Award

Toni Murray: Rullanih Coccah

Port Cygnet Cannery Mixed Medium/any other Student Award

Cameron Bosveld: Dingo

George & Sanders

The George and Sanders family Oil & Acrylic Award

Rick Crossland: Sun and Showers Sawyers Bay Flinders Island

Team Karl Gallienne of Harcourts Oil & Acrylic Highly Commended Award

Mary Ann Tandy: Wattle Grove
Accepted by Mary's partner

Port Cygnet Cannery Oil & Acrylic Student Award

Kathleen Bosveld: My Bunnies

Huon Valley Community Bank Branches Photographic Award

Stu Mackay: Entwined
Accepted by Stu's partner - a bit of a height difference to Posie!

Frenchman’s River Photographic Highly Commended Award

Mark Hopgood: Morning Blush

Port Cygnet Cannery Photographic Student Award

Zarian Simcox: Barron Falls

Huon Valley Community Bank Branches 3D Award

Owen Whitton: Salvaged before the regen burn

Tassal 3D Highly Commended Award

Nicole Andersen: Weaving Home

Roslaie Woodruff 3D Student Award

Xander Rauenbusch: Fox

Port Cygnet Cannery Student Overall Art Award 16 years & under

Cygnet Community Childrens Centre: Our Bunyip

Artery Schools Award

Peregrine School

Southern Swan People’s Choice Award

Fred Moschberger: The Watchman

Our sponsors

The Huon Art Awards can only take place with the valued sponsorship of local businesses and patrons.

HAEG gratefully acknowledges the sponsorship of the following businesses along with other businesses and individuals who requested to remain anonymous.

The Huon Art Awards is supported by the Tasmanian Government through Events Tasmania

Platinum Sponsors

Bendigo Bank
Huon Valley Community Bank Branches

Gold Sponsors

The Bacon Family

Huon Valley Council

George and Sanders


Posie Graeme-Evans &
Andrew Blaxland

Silver Sponsors

Commercial Hotel Cygnet
Bastian Seidel MLC

Bronze Sponsors

Rosalie Woodruff MHA

Di Evans

David O'Byrne MHA


CWA Cygnet

Julie Collins MHR Federal Member for Franklin

Winsor Dobbin