Opening Night

The Huon Art Awards opening night was very different in 2021.

The COVID-19 maximum density limit for the Cygnet Town Hall means that at most 120 people can be in the hall at the same time, so there were 2 “opening nights” – Thursday 4th and Friday 5th March 2021.

The exhibition was opened by Bastian Seidel, MLC for Huon on the Thursday night, and introduced by Bob Brown on the Friday night.

And the winners for the 2021 Huon Art Awards are...

Team Karl Gallienne of Harcourts 2021 Huon Art Award

Phillip Hirst: Newall Creek - West Coast
Huon Valley Council

Huon Valley Council Acquisitive Award

Margaret Sonnemann: Gathering Seaweed

Homelands Acquisitive Award

Richard Stanley: Brother & Sister Island, White Beach

Artery Schools Award

Huonville Primary School

Artery & David O’Byrne Student Overall Art Award 16 years & under

James Hill: Earrings

Artery & CWA Student Overall Art Award 16 years & under – Highly Commended

Mimi Tanner: Her ocean colours

Bacon Family

Richard Bacon Watercolour Award

Annick Ansselin: Red Flowering Yellow Gum - E. eucoxylon "rosea"

Bacon Family

Richard Bacon Watercolour Highly Commended Award

Peter Drinkwater: Huon Sunrise

Artery & CWA Watercolour Student Award

Amala Smallwood: Feelings

The Huon Valley Community Bank Branches Oil Award

Margaret Sonnemann: Gathering Seaweed

Franks Cider Oil Highly Commended Award

Mary Ann Tandy: Lymington Fires

The Port Cygnet Cannery Acrylic Award

Ewen Welsh: Dierdree

Port Cygnet Cannery Acrylic Highly Commended Award

Susannah Archer: Serendipity - Charlotte Cove

Artery & David O’Byrne Acrylic Student Award

Molly Southam: Light over kunanyi

George & Sanders

The George & Sanders Printmaking and Drawing Award

Ange Cooper: Green Cabin Amongst Shifting Trees

Di Evans &

Rosalie Woodruff

Di Evans &
Rosalie Woodruff Printmaking & Drawing Award Highly Commended


Stephen Cronin: Precious Resource

Artery & David O’Byrne Printmaking & Drawing Student Award

Kathleen Bosveld: Concrete mixer cat

Posie Graeme-Evans & Andrew Blaxland

Posie Graeme-Evans & Andrew Blaxland Photographic Award

David Murphy: The Blackjays Log

Huon Valley Community Bank Branches Photographic Highly Commended Award

Alistair Bushby: Homeward

Artery & Julie Collins Photographic Student Award

Sen Dobinson: Baby silver eye

VIEW Real Estate Mixed Medium/Any Other Award

Viesuave Tarnicki: Just before

Huon Valley Community Bank Branches Mixed Medium/any other Highly Commended Award

Zilong Wang: Tasmanian waratah

Artery & Julie Collins Mixed Medium/any other Student Award

Sarah Gulline: Claudia

Team Karl Gullienne of Harcourts 3D Award

Ned Trewartha: Spider 0.5

Bastian Siedel

Bastian Siedel 3D Highly Commended Award

Lindsay Wood: Quoll

Artery & David O’Byrne 3D Student Award

Alexander Rauenbusch: No body would help the dog!

Southern Swan People’s Choice Award

Susannah Archer: Serendipity - Charlotte Cove
Alan Kemp, Anne LeFevre, Susannah Archer and Sponsor John Reed (Southern Swan)

Thanks again to our sponsors – there would be no Huon Art Awards without them.

Our sponsors

The Huon Art Awards can only take place with the valued sponsorship of local businesses and patrons.

HAEG gratefully acknowledges the sponsorship of the following businesses along with other businesses and individuals who requested to remain anonymous.

The Huon Art Awards is supported by the Tasmanian Government through Events Tasmania

Platinum Sponsors

Bendigo Bank
Huon Valley Community Bank Branches

Gold Sponsors

The Bacon Family

Huon Valley Council

George and Sanders


Posie Graeme-Evans &
Andrew Blaxland

Silver Sponsors

Commercial Hotel Cygnet
Bastian Seidel MLC

Bronze Sponsors

Rosalie Woodruff MHA

Di Evans

David O'Byrne MHA


CWA Cygnet

Julie Collins MHR Federal Member for Franklin

Winsor Dobbin