Huon Art Awards 2017

The Opening

Adriana Taylor (Commissioner of Huon Valley Council) opened the 2017 Huon Art Awards to a hall filled with art, artists and art-lovers. The judges this year were Alan Kemp, Caroline Amos and Trudi Young – thanks to all three for giving us their time and expertise for the judging process.

There were 186 entries in the Huon Art Awards this year (147 last year), with a wide range of styles and subjects.

Thanks again to the many sponsors who made Huon Art Awards 2017 possible, the hard work of many HAEG volunteers, and of course the artists who submitted entries for display and judging this year. Food, wine, and music provided by DayStar Duo completed the evening.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Winners

Huon Valley Community Bank Branches “Huon Art Award” ($2000)
Lindsay Wood: “Femur”


Huon Valley Council Acquisitive Award ($1000)
Anne LeFevre: “Lisa’s Boat at Drip Beach”

Homelands Acquisitive Award ($1000)
Susan Freund: “Franklin”

Lions Club Student Overall Winner ($200)
Seth Rix-Wright: “Atoms for Peace”

Huon Valley Community Bank Branches Oil & Acrylic Award ($1000)
Robert Brown: “Mt Wellington – Cloudy day”

Oil & Acrylic Award Highly Commended ($500)
Helen Jessup: “Autumn Light”

Artery Oil & Acrylic Award – Student ($100)
Tais Hennekam: “Snowy Night”

Noel Dopel 3D Award ($1000)
Sarina Dutton: “Sole Fish”

Noel Dopel 3D Highly Commended ($500)
Nicholas Iceton: “Hunter Moon”

Jas Cartwright Student 3D Award ($100)
Daniel Flakemore: Untitled

Photographic Award ($1000)
Linda Holland: “Seaweed emerging through the surface”

Photographic Highly Commended ($500)
Stephen Carter: “Chrysalis”

Jas Cartwright Student Photography Award ($100)
Zarian Simcox: “On the move”

Coast House Richard Bacon Watercolour Award ($1000)
Vivienne Dick: “Evening Mist”

Richard Bacon Watercolour Award Highly Commended ($500)
Jill Miller: “Calm before the storm”

Artery Student Watercolour Award ($100)
Zoe Davidson: “Mermaid of the Deep”

Jas Cartwright Mixed Media/Other Award ($1000)
Jacinta Marr: “Maelstrom”

Mixed Media/Other Highly Commended ($500)
Jenny Brown: “Blue Italian”

Artery Student Mixed Media/Other Award ($100)
Ayla McIntyre: Untitled

Southern Swan Peoples Choice Award ($1000)
Ben Clifford: “Sshh”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Opening Friday, March 3rd, 2017
Exhibition Open Hours
Sat – March 4th to Sun – March 19th.
10am – 4pm Daily
14 Mary Street, Cygnet 7112

Our sponsors

Huon Art Awards can only take place with the valued sponsorship of local businesses and patrons.

HAEG gratefully acknowledges the sponsorship of the following businesses along with other businesses and individuals who requested to remain anonymous.

Huon Valley Community Bank Branches Giant Cheque

Huon Valley Community Bank BranchesHuon Valley Community Bank Branches

Huon Valley Council

Tasmanian Regional Arts


Southern Swan

Bob Brown


The Coast House


Rosalie Woodruff MP

Lara Giddings MP

Doyles BP Garage Cygnet

Julie Collins MP

R&D Butchers Cygnet


HAEG acknowledges the sponsorship and support of Tasmanian Regional Arts through the provision of public liability insurance for “Huon Art Awards 2017”.


Further information:
Huon Art Exhibitions Group – PO Box 353 Cygnet, Tas 7112
T : 0419 839 157, 6295 0123, 6297 8209
W :, E :