Huon Art Awards 2022

The 2022 Huon Art Awards Exhibition is now over.

Opening Night

Opening night was Friday 4th March 2022. The COVID-19 maximum density limit for the Cygnet Town Hall means that at most 120 people can be in the hall at the same time, so it was a ticketed event.

The exhibition was opened by well known local artist Bonnie Sveen.


And the winners for the 2022 Huon Art Awards are...

Team Karl Gallienne of Harcourts 2022 Huon Art Award

Joe Shemesh: Lost World - kunanyi
Huon Valley Council

Huon Valley Council Acquisitive Award

Taliesin Scott: Curiosity

Homelands Acquisitive Award

Freya Hook: Untitled

First Dog on the Moon Institute – Work featuring an animal


Bonnie Sveen: Resilience is not invincibility

Artery & Fat Pig Farm – Roy Leeman Memorial Overall Art Award Young Artist 13 to 18

Freya Hook: Untitled

Artery & Rosalie Woodruff MHA Roy Leeman Memorial Overall Art Award Young Artist 12 and underd

James Hill: Expression

Bacon Family

Richard Bacon Memorial Watercolour Award

Vivienne Dick: Storm On The Way

Bacon Family

Richard Bacon Memorial Watercolour Highly Commended Award

Peter Drinkwater: Gordon River

Artery & Cygnet CWA Watercolour Award Young Artist

Melody Zhang: Where is our home?

The Huon Valley Community Bank Branches Oil Award

Mary Ann Tandy: Huon Island

Huon Valley Community Bank Branches Oil Award Highly Commended

Caryl Plant: Show Girl

Artery & David O’Byrne MHA Oil Award Young Artist

Elaine Jiang: Green World, Our World

Bastian Seidel (former MLC) Acrylic Award

David Nunn: High Tide Kingston Beach

Huon Valley Commnunity Bank Branches Acrylic Award Highly Commended

Wendy Galloway: Veil

Artery & David O’Byrne MHA Acrylic Award Young Artist

Sarah-Liliana Barnes: Exploring Still Life

George & Sanders

The George & Sanders Printmaking and Drawing Award

Susannah Archer: Honesty

Di Evans & Huon Art – Printmaking & Drawing Award Highly Commended

Angie Cooper: But we watch from The Shore

Artery & Jacquie Petrusma MHA Printmaking & Drawing Award Young Artist

Felicity Bosveld: Buddies

Coast House Photographic Award

Mark Hopgood: Standing in the Dark

Millennium Pictures

Millennium Pictures Photographic Award Highly Commended

Bronte Lance: Margaret
Not Bronte

Artery & Julie Collins MHR Photographic Award Young Artist

Leila Grain: Disgustingly colourful

VIEW Real Estate Mixed Medium/Any Other Award

Barbara Tassell: Hunting the Edge

Port Cygnet Cannery Mixed Medium / Any Other Award Highly Commended

Heather Crisp: Bubblegum

Artery & Nic Street MHA Mixed Medium / Any Other Award Young Artist

Meg Baehr: Magical Garden

Team Karl Gallienne of Harcourts 3D Award

Jen Beith: Taurian Vas

Frank’s Cider 3D Award Highly Commended

Ned Trewartha: Sittin on the Dock

Artery & Dean Winter MHA 3D Award Young Artist

Izzy Borzak-Bell: Trees Bleed Too

Southern Swan People’s Choice Award

Fred Moschberger: "The Other Reef (The Great Southern Reef)"
Fred Moschberger

Some detail photos of this 1.7 million dot artwork (give or take a dot).

Judges for the 2022 Huon Art Awards

The following three judges have volunteered their time and expertise to judge the 20th Anniversary Huon Art Awards.

Jane Haley is privileged to have spent her life working in the arts around Australia. Having returned to her home state, she’s just finished 6.5 years as CEO of Ten Days on the Island and is looking forward to continuing to make a contribution and enjoying the great art that Tasmania offers.

Sarah Gunnersen Dempsey is an artist, art collector, interior designer/curator and student. She appreciates the struggle to make art, and is always seeking to understand the what, why and how of the work.

Sarah has a Batchelor of Art (Monash University), Diploma of Art RMIT and currently completing an Advanced Diploma RMIT. She has studied at the Victorian College of Art and studied with British artists Tom Coates and Mary Jackson of the British, New English Art Cluband under Australian Artists Jeff Makin, David Moore and Leoni Duff.

Peter Whyte is an international award-winning fine art and commercial photographer based in Hobart, with a career spanning nearly 40 years.

Throughout this time, Peter has specialised in the documentation and interpretation of the work of many of Tasmania’s leading artists, from painters and print makers, sculptors, ceramicists and designed object makers. He has worked with countless galleries and museums including TMAG, MONA, NGV, AGNSW, Bett Gallery and Design Tasmania.

Peter’s own work has been exhibited at HeadOn Festival Sydney, Ballarat International Foto Festival, Anita Traverso Melbourne and Bett Gallery Hobart.

Thanks again to our sponsors – there would be no Huon Art Awards without them.

Our sponsors

The Huon Art Awards can only take place with the valued sponsorship of local businesses and patrons.

HAEG gratefully acknowledges the sponsorship of the following businesses along with other businesses and individuals who requested to remain anonymous.

Platinum Sponsors

Bendigo Bank
Huon Valley Community Bank Branches

Gold Sponsors

The Bacon Family

Huon Valley Council
Bastian Seidel MLC

George and Sanders

Homelands logo

Silver Sponsors

Commercial Hotel Cygnet

Millennium Pictures

Bronze Sponsors

Di Evans

David O'Byrne MHA

Rosalie Woodruff MHA


CWA Cygnet

Julie Collins MHR Federal Member for Franklin

Jacquie Petrusma MHA

Nic Street MHA

Dean Winter MHA

Winsor Dobbin